Just another weblog

60th Anniversary of the Council of Europe Maio 5, 2009

Filed under: Day — looking4good @ 12:15 am

6oth anniversary of Council of Europe logo

The Council of Europe was founded on 5 May 1949 by Belgium, Denmark, France, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden and the United Kingdom. It now has 47 member states, with Montenegro being the latest to join. Some members have some or most of their territory extending beyond Europe, and in the case of Armenia and Cyprus, they are located entirely outside Europe; these states are included due to their historical and cultural links to Europe.

The primary aim of the Council of Europe is to create a common democratic and legal area throughout the whole of the continent, ensuring respect for its fundamental values: human rights, democracy and the rule of law.

Read more about the 60th anniversay (pdf link)


Deixe uma Resposta

Preencha os seus detalhes abaixo ou clique num ícone para iniciar sessão:

Logótipo da

Está a comentar usando a sua conta Terminar Sessão /  Alterar )

Google+ photo

Está a comentar usando a sua conta Google+ Terminar Sessão /  Alterar )

Imagem do Twitter

Está a comentar usando a sua conta Twitter Terminar Sessão /  Alterar )

Facebook photo

Está a comentar usando a sua conta Facebook Terminar Sessão /  Alterar )


Connecting to %s